The Rest of Your Life

This probably seems like the millionth time I’ve said this, but being totally finished with school is incredibly liberating. The day before yesterday, as was drilled into my head for months, was A-Level results day; and so I finally found out what I got in the exams I’ve spent the last two years working towards and which essentially tell me (or least most people, those who haven’t taken a gap year) whether or not I’ve gotten into university. I did alright, could have been better, but also could have been much worse. Anyway, as is the message pouring in from all sides, people are not defined by their results – they are defined by themselves, I think, so on I must go.

So, things have changed. Friends are going on to university, or going back to school, and I am going off on my own adventures. I suppose life is an adventure, whatever you do with it, but parting with “see you at christmas” to someone you’ve known for and seen pretty much every day for the last 7 years of your life is strange. Yes, I know we’re all still in the same city, the same physical locations we’ve always been in, but the possibility of not seeing someone who’s been a part of your life for a long time on a regular basis anymore is surprisingly isolating.

I don’t really know what I’m saying anymore, and I’m not even sure I knew what I was saying to begin with. The point constantly being made, I guess, about everything here, is that this is the start of the rest of your life. And as much as I’m looking forward to it, I’ve realised lately that there are definitely things I’ll miss. Well, mostly people.

– Vicki

Standard

Leave a Reply

